Use AIMS Student Access Module to enroll online
April 12, 2013
Paniamogan, Pontejos lifts JRU over Mapua in season opener
June 27, 2013

NCAA Season 89: Litmus Test for Embattled Bombers

Embrace the grind. A statement that has been the Heavy Bombers calling card since Coach Vergel Meneses took over the reins in 2010. Left without a bona fide star, José Rizal University will rely heavily on teamwork and grit to get through the perennial contenders and pretenders in the upcoming NCAA season 89. Michael Mabulac’s stellar performance last season earned him the honor of being named team captain as he stands to be the leader of this young team. Other holdovers include – Cris Jordan Dela Paz, Clint Muñez, Philip Criszam Paniamogan, and Juan Edilfierto Salaveria. Completing JRU’s line-up for the Men’s Basketball Tournament areJohn Paolo Pontejos, Nick Wilson Abanto, Marco Paolo Balagtas, Schever Anthony Benavides, Harley Frank Diego, Martin Joseph Gozum, John Ervin Grospe, Gio Nicolo Lasquety, and Michael Medrano.

Though not one to make a prediction on the outcome of the season, Meneses is confident that his squad will book another Final Four appearance having had a solid stint in the PBA D-League and good performances in pre-season tournaments. It has been an agonizing wait for the championship to come back home to Mandaluyong, but a bomb is meant to blow up and can go off at any time. Maybe 89 is the season the JRU Heavy Bombers’ fuse finally ignites giving its fans an explosion that has been long overdue.

There seems to be no off-season for the three-time NCAA Track and Field Champions. Rest is the farthest thing from the minds of husband and wife tandem of Coach George Noel Posadas and Coach Elma Muros-Posadas engineers of the JRU three-peat. Winning is a habit the Bombers do not plan to break any time soon. A fourth consecutive title is the goal for Season 89.

Season 88 Most Valuable Player John Albert Mantua and Mark Harry Diones pick-up from where they left off as they will again be key to JRU’s campaign. Joining them are Danilo Abarra, Melmar Atam, Melvin Canalo, Aries Camporedondo, Ruen Dela Torre, Melbert Diones, Ralph Jay Ebora, Aldrin Gonzales, Rudyfer Hernandez, Peter Pol Padal, Cristian Repe, Aldrin Rey, Roger Tapia, Ramil Toledo, Albert Valencia, and Roldan Verano.
Hard work and preparation propelled the Bombers to the top. Commitment and fortitude will ensure that they stay there.

Comments are closed.