“Don’t Dream it, Be it”
September 17, 2016
Junior High School Clubs Day 2016
October 1, 2016

Hospitality Showdown 2016

The College of Hospitality and Tourism Management and its mother organization, the Hospitality Hoteliers and Restaurateurs’ Society, once again had successfully displayed the knowledge, skills and talents of its members in their annual Hospitality Showdown. In the tradition, each year level has competitions in accordance to their major subjects. Organization officers are assigned to handle certain categories and assist the participants before, during and after the competition. In its tradition annually, a theme is selected each year, HHRS decided on “Filipino Hospitality, We Cultivate” as to give honor to the country and its new administration.

In his opening remarks, Mr. Tirso Palermo, the chairman of the department of HRM & Cruise Management, cited our alumni as inspiration for the participants. Notable HTM alumni are Harry Moreño, a graduate of batch 2015 who won a gold medal in fruit carving in the National Food Showdown mentored by Mr. Marlon Andaya, has worked in prestigious Sofitel and Fairmont hotels, is now bound for abroad; another is Philip Salangsang who won a bronze medal in flairtending in the National Food Showdown mentored by Ms. Rosanne April Ramos, is now working in the Raging Bull of Shangri La the Fort.

The president, Kyle Darren Jatulan, attributed the success of this event not only to the support of the members but the hard work of the student volunteers.

The following is the list of winners for each category: Quiz Mania, Virjila Melin Recones of F&B track of Senior High School , Kim Joshua Angara of the first year level, Kimberly Tenedero of the second year level, Lawrence Michael Ledesma of third year level and Jayare Emperador of the fourth year; Food Photography:  Alyssa Marie C. Farin of the F&B Track from the Senior High School. For the second year competitions: buffet centerpiece – 201H; table setting – 202S; napkin folding is Rheyster Monteroso; dessert flambé is Kimberly Bunoan. The third year winners are cake decoration – 303H; dessert buffet – 301H; waiter’s relay – 302H; garnish making  – Marjorie Sapiandante ; sensory test – Engeland Valmpres; classic mixing  – Ryan Enciso; flairtending – Kurt Balisbisana. Last but not the least, the fourth year category which is market basket was won by 401H.

“I am delighted with the large number of participants this year despite the knowledge that the winners will not be able to move onto the National Food Showdown. It goes to show that Rizalians, particulary Hotel and Restaurant Management and Cruise Management students are adhering to Jose Rizal University’s core values”, said Ms. Rosanne April Ramos, HHRS Senior Adviser.

Click here to see all activities happened during the showdown.


Comments are closed.